Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

SME Presents Awards for Excellence and Extraordinary Achievements in the Mining and Minerals Industry

Industry News

SME Presents Awards for Excellence and Extraordinary Achievements in the Mining and Minerals Industry

Each year, the Society for Mining, Metallurgy & Exploration (SME) presents more than 70 awards throughout the week at the MINEXCHANGE SME Annual Conference & Expo. SME award recipients represent the highest levels of professionalism and expertise in the mining and minerals industry, with awards given for both individual and group achievements.

The 2024 SME Awards Celebration will take place on Wednesday, February 28 from 5:00 pm – 7:30 pm at the Sheraton Phoenix Downtown. Pivoting to a new format this year, the event is now open to all attendees and is included in MINEXCHANGE conference registration.

“Recognition of members by their peers for their career achievements that improve the mining industry is one of the greatest benefits that SME provides to its members,” said Marc Le Vier, 2023 SME President. “We want more participation from all levels of members, from students to Legion of Honor members, and we feel the new format can achieve this goal.”

Notable awards include:

  • Charles F. Rand Memorial Gold Medal, presented to Jimmy A. Brock
  • Mineral Economics Award, presented to Thomas F. Brady
  • Mineral Industry Education Award, presented to Samuel Frimpong
  • AIME Honorary Member Award, presented to Ihor A. Kunasz and Thomas J. O’Neil
  • Erskine Ramsay Medal, presented to Michael A. Trevits
  • Frank F. Aplan Award, presented to Barry Wills
  • Hal Williams Hardinge Award, presented to Edward F. McCarthy
  • Ivan B. Rahn Education Award, presented to Rick Honaker
  • John Fritz Medal, presented to Asad M. Madni
  • Robert E. Murray Innovation Award, presented to Consol Energy Inc.
  • Robert Earll McConnell Award, presented to Denise C. Johnson
  • Robert H. Richards Award, presented to Richard H. Johnson
  • Robert M. Dreyer Award, presented to John M. Proffett
  • William Saunders Gold Medal, presented to Barbara A. Filas

For more information regarding the 2024 SME Awards Celebration and a full list of recipients, visit

Related Articles

Armstrong Celebrates 90th Anniversary

Armstrong Celebrates 90th Anniversary

Armstrong Fluid Technology marked its 90th anniversary this April, celebrating a significant milestone of longevity and innovation in the fluid-flow…

Related Whitepapers

Design Optimization of Jet Fuel Pump for Aviation

Jet fuel pumps play a critical role in the safe and efficient operation of commercial aviation. The performance and reliability of these pumps directly impact…

The Cost Of Downtime In Manufacturing [Infographic]

Downtime can be the most expensive element of any manufacturing operation. Here are some important facts and tips you should know to cut down on…

AFT Fathom used to Model Central Heating Cycle of a State-of-the-art Combined Heat and Power Plant

Kerem Algüzey, design engineer at ENKA Insaat ve Sanayi A.S., used AFT Fathom to simulate the central heating cycle to inform the design of the…

Driving Energy Savings a Commercial Facility Energy Upgrade Project

Upgrading to Design Envelope pumps helped GAC save energy costs of 20,000 AED in the first year. Armstrong’s Pump Manager service provides reports and notifications…


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *